Irish Cricket Archives masthead
Irish Cup Finals

The Irish Cup began in 1982. In this series we look back on each year of competition for the island's premier club trophy.

1982: North beat Leinster in inaugural Final
The first Irish Senior Cup final saw a Simon Corlett inspired North overcame Leinster by 14 runs in a rain-shortened contest.
1983: Triumph for Waringstown
The competition's most successful side overcame holders North to claim the first of their six titles back in 1983.
1984: Lurgan continue Northern domination
Lurgan became the third NCU club to win the Irish Cup in its first three years.
1985: NCU dominant again as Downpatrick beat North Down
Downpatrick beat North Down in an all-NCU contest to continue the Northern domination.
1986: Phoenix break the NCU stranglehold
Phoenix trounced Donemana to win the trophy for the first and only time.
1987: The Saints go marching on!
An all North West final saw St Johnston upset the odds to beat Brigade by seven wickets.
1988: Hunter hundred seals it for Lurgan
Teenager Graeme Hunter stole the limelight with a century to help Lurgan beat North Down.
1989: North Down beat Donemana
A first Irish Cup for North Down as they overcome Donemana in a tense and rather ill-tempered final.