There were runs and drama aplenty in the second round of the National Cup, with the favourites emerging unscathed to make the last eight. Conor Mullen showed all his experience as he guided County Galway over the line with an unbeaten 59 as they chased UCC’s 183 to win by three wickets. Mullen received vital support from Swaroop (31) and Kumal (26) in a tight encounter that could have gone either way.

Ballyspallen made the long trek to the Oyster Oval and emerged victorious in another tense encounter, chasing 201 to win by two wickets. Their successful pursuit was down to Sri Lankan professional Demith Perera who hit 7 sixes and 7 fours in his 96 from just 59 balls, with runs too from skipper Andy Christie (32) and all-rounder Stuart Kennedy (38*), who had also taken three wickets in the Kerry innings, which was dominated by Saghir’s 64.

Cregagh travelled to Limerick and won another entertaining game, their total of 249 proving 36 too many for the hosts. An opening stand of 71 between Dan Cooper (39) and Jonny Moore (37) set the perfect platform, for Matthew Simpson to make 52. Australian Tim Smithies hit 17 fours and 2 sixes in a brilliant century, but Cregagh chipped away and managed to defend it, bowling out 2018 finalists Limerick for 213.

Craig Lewis thumped 14 fours and 12 sixes in a brilliant 154 from just 95 deliveries as Derriaghy amassed 329 for 9 at home to Glendermott at Queensway. Morne Venter and Curtis Moorhead each made 36, while Curtis Ross and Adam Boyd each claimed three wickets. Skipper Ben Mills and Pakistan professional Jamal Anwar both scored half centuries in the chase but Venter took six wickets as 2013 finalists Derriaghy won by 110 runs.

Three-times champions Rush look once again the team to beat after an 82-run win against Midleton. Jared Barnes was the Kenure side hero as he hit 11 fours and 5 sixes in his 103 from 84 balls, sharing a fifth wicket stand of 152 with Andrew Doheny (53*). LLew Johnson also made 41 in their total of 260 for 6. In reply Midleton made 178, with Majid Khan top scoring with 60, while Asher Abbasi took 3 for 25.

2017 finalists Terenure made short work of Bonds Glen, as Seamus Lynch’s brutal assault made short work of their modest 126 target. Lynch hit 10 sixes and 8 fours in an unbeaten 98 from just 49 balls, dominating an unbroken second wicket stand of 80 in six overs with Donal Vaughn (4*). Vaughn and Sadiq Safi each took three wickets in the Bee Gees 125, in which former Irish international David Cooke top-scored with an unbeaten 27.

Holders Railway Union are safely through after a 95-run win at Strabane. Hashir Sultan top-scored with 69, sharing a fourth wicket stand of 81 with Liam McCarthy (40). Ernest Musuku’s four wickets saw the Dubliners stutter from 140 for 3 to 183 all out, but it still proved more than enough as the home side’s batting failed. The Red Caps were bundled out for just 78.

Five-times Irish Cup winners North County survived a St Johnston fightback to clinch a two-wicket win in Donegal. When the Saints slumped to 25 for 6, it seemed as if the Fingal side’s trip would be a short one, but the Saints rallied strongly. Skipper David Lapsley (75) and Nathan Cole (48*) added 117 for the 7th wicket and a total of 142 gave their attack a sniff. Three wickets for Cole, plus to apiece for Jacob Maroske and David Anthony had County worried, but John Mooney’s hard-hit 41 from just 23 balls (5 sixes) got them back on track and Andrew Sheridan’s 33 ensured the narrow win.