The big guns all fired on the opening day of the North West season, with results in all seven games despite some really nasty showers circling the region.

Bready skipper David Scanlon's hat-trick helped the 2021 champions start with a resounding 9-wickets win at home to Killyclooney. The visitors would have been happy enough with an opening stand of 35 between Blayde Cappell and William Finlay before Scanlon's burst changed the complexion entirely. Irosh also claimed three wickets as Bready used nine bowlers as Killyclooney were dismissed for 106.

Openers Jamie Magee (42*) and Gavin Roulston (26) shared an opening stand of 68, while Kyle Magee scored 15 not out on his debut as the total was reached in just the 16th over.

Brigade's top order fired as they were convincing winners over Glendermott in the Waterside derby. Openers Ifty Hussain (91) and DD Barr (51) shared an opening stand of 120 in 22 overs to lay the platform for a total of 282 for 4. Hussain hit 10 fours and cleared the ropes three times in an innings that deserved a century.

Adam McDaid (51) kept the momentum going and 107 came in the last 10 overs. Skipper Andy Britton hit 3 sixes in an unbeaten 22, while debutant Cameron Melly became the fourth of the top five to pass 50, hitting 5 fours and 3 sixes - the last of those from the final ball of the innings. 

Glendermott never threatened the big total, with Jason Lynch (38*) and Alan Johnson (30*) the best of their 120 for 6 before the rains brought proceedings to a premature end in the 28th over with the hosts 82 behind on DLS.

Coleraine got their campaign up and running with an easy seven-wickets win at Burndennett. The hosts were dismissed for 158 with Mark Pollock top-scoring with 33, and 20s from Indian student Gopi Siva and Mark Doherty. Brian Acheson claimed three wickets, while there was two apiece from the joint skippers Ravi Karunaratne and Matthew Hutchinson, plus former skipper Stephen Hutchinson.

Rain saw the target reduced to 139 in 34 overs, and the Bannsiders never looked like losing after an opening stand of 72 between Scott Campbell and Marcus Poskitt (24). Mark Pollock (2-25) claimed two wickets, but Campbell's unbeaten 63 (9 fours, 1 six) saw the win achieved with six overs to spare.

Donemana made a winning start after a typically powerful middle-order batting display by William McClintock lifted them from early trouble at 53 for 4 to 238. McClintock top-scored with 82 from just 44 balls, hitting 11 fours and 5 sixes as he and Levi Dougherty (19) added 82 in 9 overs for the fifth wicket.

New captain Dwayne McGerrigle cleared the ropes five times in his 38, while Willie McBrine chipped in with 27. Bee Gees captain Raymond Curry and teenage spinner Sam Kincaid each took three wickets.

Gary Neely (3-34) struck early blows and only Heinrich Roberts run-a-ball 40 offered any serious resistance in the chase. Jordan McGonigle (4-31) and William McBrine (2-21) ensured the maximum points win as Bonds Glen were bowled out for 132.

St Johnston produced the one surprise of the day as new skipper David Anthony took four wickets to help bowl Fox Lodge out for 102. The Foxiess new Sri Lankan professional Gayan Maneesshan lasting just three balls - one of three victims for Dawid Barnard. Craig Doherty top scored for the Ballymagory side with 27.

The Donegal side were always in control chasing a modest target, with Michael Rankin top scoring with 26. Aaron Heywood took 2 for 11 in an eight over spell, but there wasn't enough runs on the board for any hope of a comeback win.

Eglinton are up and running after a five-wicket win at home to neighbours Ballyspallen. Three wickets apiece for Mattie Mills and Robbie Millar kept the visitors to 175 - two wickets also for debutant Liam Doherty. Sri Lankan Demith Perera top-scored with an even time 56 (4 fours, 3 sixes), while there were 20s for Kyle Morrow against his former club and Stephen Kennedy.

Mike Erlank ensured the win with a well made 73 from 77 balls (9 fours, 1 six) sharing a fifth wicket stand of 67 in 9 overs with Andy Millar. The Eglinton skipper thumped 3 fours and 2 sixes in a rapid unbetaen 35 from 23 balls to hurry his side to victory with the heavy rainclouds sweeping in.

A second wicket stand of 138 in 16 overs between Strabane captain Aaron Gillespie and Kevin Gallagher looked to be propelling the Tyrone side to a daunting total against defending champions Newbuildings.

However once Gallagher went for 36, he was quickly followed by Gillespie, who smashed 16 fours and 3 sixes in a rapid 93 from 70 balls. Four wickets to Charlie Downey, plus two apiece from Ross Dougherty and Ryan Hunter saw the Red Caps falter from 167 for 2 to 224 all out.

Newbuildings required an adjusted target of 174 in 30 overs, and that proved little trouble after an opening stand of 106 in 10 overs between Mark Hanna and Ross Dougherty. Hanna crunched 6 fours and 6 sixes in a top score of 69 from only 35 balls, while Dougherty made 51 from 42 balls (4 fours, 3 sixes). Ryan Hunter closed out the easy win with five boundaries in his unbeaten 38 - Shane Diver gaining two consolation wickets for Strabane.