Northern Knights powered their way back to the top of T20 inter-provincial table as they completed a clean sweep of victories in Cork.

North West Warriors, who had won their first two games with a bonus point, were their victims yesterday, highlighting the Knights dominance over the last three days as they installed themselves as favourites to win the T20 Trophy for only the second time, the first in 2019 when rain prevented results in eight of the 12 matches.

There has been no problem with the weather this week although a swarm of bees did prevent six full games, but the Knights have been buzzing all week, no-one more so than Morgan Topping who hit his second half-century.

The Waringstown batsman scored 114 runs without being dismissed and although four byes won the match for Knights by seven wickets, the extra runs were enough to gain the bonus point.

After Ruhan Pretorius the Knights top scorer this week with 140 runs – was caught behind off Trent McKeegan for 43, his lowest score, off 27 balls, Topping shared stands of 45 in 29 balls with Cade Carmichael and 50 unbeaten with captain Neil Rock from 25 balls to seal the man of the match award.

Matthew Foster was the unlucky bowler overlooked, as he took four wickets for the first time in the competition including Warriors’ internationals Stephen Doheny and Shane Getkate as Warriors were restricted to 164 for nine. Foster was also on a hat-trick after he bowled Cameron Melly but William McClintock denied him.

The series of big wins was completed in the final game by Munster Reds who also claimed the bonus point for victory at the start of the 17th over against Leinster Lightning.

Scores: North West Warriors 164-9 (S Doheny 39, S Getkate 29; M Foster 4-30, T Mayes 2-20, T Koen 2-34) Northern Knights 167-3 (16.1 overs, M Topping 51 not out, C Carmichael 44, R Pretorius 43). Warriors won by 7 wickets.

:Leinster Lightning 157-5 (S Harbinson 45 not out, A Rosslee 45, T Tector 31, S Lynch 20; L McCarthy 2-27) Munster Reds 159-5 (16.1 overs, M Commins 37, N McGuire 34, C Fletcher 28). Lightning won by 5 wickets.