Newbuildings reached the final for the second time in two seasons as they emerged comfortable winners to knock out holders Fox Lodge at Ballymagorry.

The game was interrupted by frequent showers and the Foxies found it hard to gain any momentum once the opening stand of 35 was broken by Johnny Thompson.

Jason Milligan top-scored with 35, and there was a counter-attacking 25 from Johnny Robinson - ended by Ross Hunter who wished 'Bap' well on his travels as he tried to hit a fourth consecutive six.

Hunter went on to claim 4 for 38, while there was three wickets for 'JT' and two for Jason Dunn.

Robinson took two wickets in the chase, but half centuries from Dunn and Hanu Viljoen sealed the win.

Dunn's 51 included 4 fours and 4 sixes, while Viljoen's 50 included 6 fours as the pair added an unbroken 87 for the third wicket.

Brigade had little trouble accounting for Eglinton in another semi-final slightly spoiled by the weather. 

The villagers struggled batting first in the stop-start encounter which eventually saw their 50 overs cut to 33. Andy Millar's 19 and 18 from Tommy Orr the best of their 126.

Jamie Millar accounted for both, and also the prize scalp of Mike Erlank to take 4 for 23. Ifty Hussain also took three wickets in a fine effort from the Beechgrove bolwing unit.

DD Barr went early in the chase, but a second wicket stand of 70 between Hussain (35) and Adam McDaid all but settled the game.

McDaid's 59 included 11 fours, while there was also an unbeaten 25 from teenager Scott Macbeth.

The final will be played at Eglinton on Friday July 28th and Saturday July 29th.