Gareth Delany has been ruled out of next week's T20 World Cup Qualifers with a broken wrist and is replaced by New Zealander Theo van Woerkom.

The Leinster all-rounder suffered a broken bone in his left wrist while fielding during Ireland's placings clash with Nepal at the recent 50 overs World Cup Qualifiers in New Zealand.

29 year-old Van Woerkom has represented his native country at A and Under 19 level, as well as playing 31 first-class matches and 26 List A matches for Canterbury.

The slow left-armer and middle-order batsman is an Irish passport holder courtesy of ancestry on his mother's side, and plays domestically for CIYMS in Belfast.

Domestically he has taken 21 wickets at 23.38 with the ball and averages 23.88 with the bat, while for the Northern Knights he has taken 9 wickets at 21 in the interpro series.

The absence of any matches for Ireland Wolves means he has yet to feature at that level.

He has leapfrogged Lisburn left-arm spinner Matthew Humphreys in the pecking order, courtesy of his experience in New Zealand cricket, while Andy McBrine would perhaps have been another option for Heinrich Malan,

“In replacing Gareth for the T20 qualifiers, we have selected Theo van Woerkom, a player we have been watching closely since he agreed to sign for CIYMS during the winter," said Chair of Selectors Andrew White.

"One of the key considerations was the experience he brings, having played First Class and List A cricket for Canterbury. Theo also played for New Zealand Under 19’s and their ‘A’ squad.

“While we have a number of promising young spinners who are progressing nicely through the pathway system, we do recognise that the step up from Inter-Provincial to international cricket is huge, and we want to ideally provide our young players the time to develop in the right manner and at the right pace."

Ireland T20 World Cup Europe Qualifier squad:

Paul Stirling (Capt), Mark Adair, Ross Adair, Andrew Balbirnie, Curtis Campher, George Dockrell, Graham Hume, Josh Little, Barry McCarthy, Neil Rock, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Theo van Woerkom, Ben White, Craig Young.