The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Europe Qualifier gets underway in Edinburgh from 20 to 28 July.

Seven teams – Austria, Denmark, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Jersey and Scotland – go head-to-head in 21 matches over eight days, in the race for two spots to what will be the biggest ICC Men’s T20 World Cup ever, in the West Indies and the United States of America (USA) in June 2024.

Scotland, who just narrowly missed out on qualifying for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023, will look to put aside their disappointment from the recently concluded ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier in Zimbabwe and focus on their next mission, which is to qualify for the Men’s T20 World Cup 2024.

Scotland captain, Richie Berrington said: “We are looking forward to what is another great opportunity to qualify for a World Cup, and it’s exciting for everyone in Scottish cricket to be hosting the Europe Qualifier. It will be great to play in front of home crowds again.”

Austria captain, Razmal Shigiwal said: “It is an honour for Austria to play in this event against the best teams in Europe. We rarely get such an opportunity to test ourselves against such strong opposition. All of our players have trained hard, and we are looking forward to the opportunity to showcase the potential of this Austrian team.”

Denmark captain, Hamid Shah said: “We are very excited and looking forward to the challenges in the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup Europe Qualifier tournament. Since winning the Sub-Regional Qualifier C last year, we have prepared specifically for this tournament to level-up our skills to compete against the top teams. I am confident that we will surprise some teams.”

Germany captain, Venkatraman Ganesan said: “We are extremely excited to be a part of this tournament, and the opportunity to qualify for the 2024 T20 World Cup is a huge motivation for the whole squad. We hope to leverage our experience from playing at the last Global Qualifiers in Oman and rise to the occasion this time to produce better results. I would like to wish good luck to all other participating teams, and I cannot wait for the action to start!”

Ireland captain, Paul Stirling said: “After the performances put in by our lads at the T20 World Cup in Australia last year, we are keen to ensure we get back on the world stage again to showcase the talent that Irish cricket has within its ranks.

“T20 can be a very unpredictable format at times, so we’ll need to be at our best to succeed over the next 10 days in Scotland. Every squad at this Qualifier is here with the same objective – to qualify for the main event in the West Indies and USA next year, so we expect tough, competitive cricket and won’t be taking any opponent lightly.”

Italy captain, Gareth Berg said: “We’ve been working hard with our high-performance players over the past eight months preparing for Edinburgh - a tournament that will no doubt be exciting for any supporter of the game. Each match in this Qualifier will be like playing a World Cup final, but our players and coaching staff have worked hard in our preparations, and we are looking forward to stepping over those boundary ropes and putting in some strong performances.”

Jersey captain, Charles ‘Chuggy’ Perchard said: “We are excited to be competing in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Europe Qualifier in Scotland. The players are focused on the opportunity to qualify for the 2024 T20 World Cup.”

The participating squads are as follows:

Austria: Razmal Shigiwal (Captain), Mark Simpson-Parker, Shahil Momin, Armaan Randhawa, Ahsan Mirza, Umair Tariq, Aqib Iqbal, Iqbal Hossain, Amit Nathwani, Navin Wijesekera, Mehar Cheema, Jaweed Sadran, Adeel Tariq, Abdullah Akbarjan, Sahel Zadran

Denmark: Hamid Shah (Captain), Surya Anand, Taranjit Bharaj, Saud Munir, Abdul Hashmi, Oliver Hald, Jonas Henriksen, Shangeev Thanikatihasan, Nicolaj Lægsgaard, Saif Ahmad, Saran Aslam, Abdullah Mahmood, Eshan Karimi, Musa Mahmood, Lucky Ali Malik

Germany: Venkatraman Ganesan (Captain), Sahir Naqash, Harmanjot Singh, Vijayshankar Chikkannaiah, Abdul Shakoor, Sri Vishnu Elam Barathi, Muslim Yar Ashraf, Ghulam Ahmadi, Sachin Gangareddy, Zahid Zadran, Michael Richardson, Dieter Klein, Joshua van Heerden, Dylan Blignaut, Fasial bin Mubashir

Ireland: Paul Stirling (Captain), Andrew Balbirnie, George Dockrell, Curtis Campher, Ross Adair, Mark Adair, Theo van Woerkom, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Benjamin White, Neil Rock, Josh Little, Barry McCarthy, Craig Young, Graham Hume

Italy: Gareth Berg (Captain), Marcus Campopiano, JP Meade, Harry Manenti, Justin Mosca, Ben Manenti, Anthony Mosca, Grant Stewart, Wayne Madsen, Crishan Kalugamage, Syed Naqvi, Manpreet Singh, Sukhwinder Singh, Stefano Di Bartolomeo, Jaspreet Singh

Jersey: Charles Perchard (Captain), Dominic Blampied, Elliot Miles, Rhys Palmer, Harrison Carlyon, Joshua Lawrenson, Charlie Brennan, Toby Britton, Asa Tribe, Julius Sumerauer, William Perchard, Zak Tribe, Jonty Jenner, Nicholas Greenwood, Benjamin Ward

Scotland: Richie Berrington (Captain), Henry Munsey, Michael Leask, Gavin Main, Chris Sole, Christopher Greaves, Safyaan Sharif, Jack Jarvis, Matthew Cross, Tomas Mackintosh, Hamza Tahir, Mark Watt, Brandon McMullen, Oliver Hairs, Bradley Currie

Africa, Asia and Europe will have two qualification spots, with one spot up for grabs for both the Americas and East Asia Pacific regions.

Regional Finals 2023

Europe (2 qualifying teams)

20-28 July 2023 - Scotland

Austria, Denmark, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Jersey, Scotland.

East Asia Pacific (1 qualifying team)

21-29 July 2023 - Papua New Guinea

Japan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Vanuatu.

Americas (1 qualifying team)

30 September-7 October 2023 - Bermuda

Bermuda, Canada, Cayman Islands, Panama.

Africa (2 qualifying teams)

20 November – 1 December 2023 - Namibia

Kenya, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda, Zimbabwe.

Asia (2 qualifying teams)

Dates & location TBA

Bahrain, Hong Kong, Nepal, Oman, Singapore, United Arab Emirates (UAE), Winner of Sub Regional Qualifier A & Winner of Sub Regional Qualifier B.