CIYMS will go in search of a third All-Ireland T20 crown on Sunday as they take on Leinster T20 champions Balbriggan at Malahide (3pm).

The NCU side are the defending champions with skipper John Matchett keen to win the trophy again and the chance to represent Ireland once again at the European Finals.

"The guys are really looking forward to Sunday," said Matchett.

"We have had the pleasure of being involved in the All-Ireland T20 cup final twice before now so we know how great a day out it is and it promises to be a great game against Balbriggan. 

"As winners last year we are hoping to defend our title and get the opportunity to represent Ireland at the ECL again having thoroughly enjoyed the experience last year."

The squad have three Irish internationals in the Adair brothers and Chris Dougherty, while Theo van Woerkom is in the current squad too.

Jason van der Merwe was the Player of the Tournament at the European Cricket League, while all-rounder Tyron Koen has the potential to be a match winner with bat or ball.

CIYMS overpowered Cork County in the sem-final, but Balbriggan had a much tougher time before they overcame Brigade.

It took a century stand between skipper Greg Ford and Cameron Rowe for them to seal the win, and despite not having any senior internationals in the playing squad, their coach Andre Botha was a pivotal figure in the Ireland side that played in the 2011 and 2015 World Cups.

The Fingal side have a plethora of powerful all-rounders and despite being underdogs won't be overwhelmed by a first All-Ireland final appearance.

They showed their talent with a first Leinster Premiership crown in 2022 and are still in with a chance of defending that title in the closing weeks of the season.

It promises to be a fascinating encounter between two evenly matched sides. Play on Sunday gets underway at 3pm.

Balbriggan: Greg Ford (capt), Cameron Rowe, Dylan Lues, Sam Willemse, Chris DeFreitas, Farooq Nasr, Matt Pollard, Kashif Ali, Andy Darroch, Connor Fletcher, Eoin Birch, Abdul Samad, Alan Richardson (scorer) Andre Botha (Head Coach).

CIYMS: Mark Adair, Ross Adair, Jack Beattie, Mark Best, Allen Coulter , Chris Dougherty, Angus Farrell, Tyron Koen, John Matchett, Carson McCullough, Ed Nuttall, Christopher Robinson, Jason van der Merwe, Theo van Woerkom.