Andrew Balbirnie will return to the top of the order in the three-match one-day international series against England this month, will Curtis Campher promoted to his old number three slot.

Ireland chairman of selectors Andrew White confirmed the positional changes when he announced the 15-man squad which shows two changes from the panel which failed to qualify from the World Cup qualifying tournament in Zimbabwe.

PJ Moor’s claims as a possible opener have been rejected and he loses his place to Neil Rock while CIYMS slow left armer Theo van Woerkom, who missed out on his Ireland debut when the last match of the T20I series against India was abandoned, retains his place at the expense of Ben White.

Balbirnie has opened in four ODIs previously, scoring 71 against West Indies in Jamaica at the start of last year but after three innings in the home New Zealand series, when he totalled just 11 runs, he returned to his favoured number three position this year.

However, after the failed experiment of Andy McBrine as opener in the World Cup qualifiers, Balbirnie, now no longer captain, has been told he will open the batting with Paul Stirling and in-form Campher, who has never batted higher than at five in his 30 ODIs, is moved up the order.

“We believe Curtis has the technique and aptitude to succeed in the (No 3) role – he plays pace as well as anyone in the squad and we believe he has the capability to bat higher up the order and have a really positive impact,” said White, who also added that Stirling and Balbirnie “can develop into a longer term opening option in the 50-over game”.

The games will be Ireland’s first ODIs against the world champions since  the three-match behind-closed doors games during the Covid summer of 2020 in Southampton when Stirling and Balbirnie both scored centuries in a famous Ireland victory in the final game.

England, currently playing a T20 series against New Zealand, will follow that with a four-match ODI series against the Black Caps with the three matches against Ireland their final action before they head to the World Cup in India, which starts on October 5.

Squad: P Stirling (capt), M Adair, A Balbirnie, C Campher, G Delany, G Dockrell, G Hume, J Little, A McBrine, B McCarthy, N Rock, H Tector, L Tucker, T van Woerkom, C Young.

Fixtures:September 20 (Headingley), September 23 (Trent Bridge), September 26 (Bristol).