Ireland has today announced a 15-player Ireland Women’s squad that will play Scotland in an historic five-match, multi-format series in Desert Springs in Spain from 17-24 October.

The “Women’s ODI & T20I Celtic Challenge” will feature three one-day internationals and two T20 internationals – the ODIs are the first such matches that Scotland will play since gaining official ODI status in 2022.

Ed Joyce, Head Coach of Ireland Women, said: “This series is certainly timely as we build towards a big 2024 – a year that features a T20 World Cup that we are obviously seeking to qualify for.

“A great feature of this squad is that, while young, it still features a significant cohort of experienced players, complemented by some emerging players who are being given the chance build their knowledge and experience of touring life.

“Leinster Cricket Club’s wicketkeeper-batter Joanna Loughran – who was part of the Ireland Under-19s Women’s squad that played in South Africa in February - receives her first senior squad call-up. Joanna has had a breakthrough year in 2023, which culminated with making her Evoke Super Series debut.

“Bready’s seam bowling all-rounder Alana Dalzell returns to the senior set-up after she played her first and only match for Ireland against South Africa last year. And Clontarf’s 17-year-old Freya Sargent is included after she impressed coaches and selectors during the recent Netherlands series with her consistency and game awareness.

“Scotland is always a competitive challenge, and we’re looking forward to a tough series next month.”

The fixtures are:

17 October: Ireland Women v Scotland Women – 1st ODI (Desert Springs; starts 10.30am)
19 October: Ireland Women v Scotland Women – 2nd ODI (Desert Springs; starts 10.30am)
21 October: Ireland Women v Scotland Women – 3rd ODI (Desert Springs; starts 10.30am)
23 October: Ireland Women v Scotland Women – 1st T20I (Desert Springs; starts 2pm)
24 October: Ireland Women v Scotland Women – 2nd T20I (Desert Springs; starts 2pm)
The Ireland Women’s squad is:
Laura Delany (captain), Ava Canning, Alana Dalzell, Georgina Dempsey, Amy Hunter, Arlene Kelly, Gaby Lewis, Louise Little, Joanna Loughran, Sophie MacMahon, Cara Murray, Leah Paul, Orla Prendergast, Freya Sargent, Rebecca Stokell.