The eighteenth edition of the Men's South American Championship has ended the same way as eleven of the previous editions did - with Argentina lifting the trophy.

Argentina were the hosts for the first time since 2017 and the tournament also involved Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Panama, Peru, Uruguay and, sretching the geographic definition of South America, Mexico.

The eight teams were divided into two groups with the top two in each qualifying for the semi-finals. Argentina and Mexico topped Group A ahead of Peru and Chile, whilst Uruguay and Colombia topped Group B ahead of Brazil and Panama.

Yesterday's final day of action opened with the two semi-finals. The hosts took on Colombia at St George's College Ground in Buenos Aires, and batted first after being put in by Colombian captain Paul Reid.

Guido Angeletti was dismissed for a duck early in their innings before captain Pedro Baron and the experienced Alejandro Ferguson - the 45 year old who made his debut at the 1994 ICC Trophy - then put on 109 for the second wicket before Ferguson was out for 41. Baron reached 77 before he was out and the final total for the home team was 154-4.

Anshul Sehrawat was the top scorer for Colombia in their reply as they batted out their overs but were restricted to 113-9, losing by 41 runs. Six Argentinian bowlers took a wicket, with Lucas Rossi the only one to take two.

In the second semi-final Mexico won the toss and chose to bat first against Uruguay. After losing both openers for ducks, they never really recovered and were bowled out for 67 with only two batters reaching double figures. Boopathy Ravi was the pick of Urguguay's bowlers with 4-12.

Uruguay chased their target in 15.1 overs to win by five wickets, Panneer Saravanan top scoring with 36.

Play-off matches followed before the final, with Brazil beating Peru by 23 runs to finish fifth, Panama beating Chile by 18 runs to finish seventh and Colombia beating Mexico by 7 runs in a high scoring third place play-off in which Colombia scored 177-5 and Mexico 170-6.

Argentina captain Pedro Baron won the toss and chose to bat first in the final against Uruguay. Guido Angeletti bounced back from his duck in the semi-final to top score with 47. Only the top three reached double figures though as the hosts were restricted to 116-8 from their 20 overs.

Uruguay lost Sunul Patil to the first ball of their reply and never recovered from that point. Panneer Saravanan's 26 was their top score as they were bowled out for 82, losing by 34 runs. Santiago Duggan was the pick of the Argentinian bowlers with 4-15.