It was announced today that the eight teams in the 2025 ICC Champions Trophy in Pakistan will be the hosts plus the best seven other finishers from the ongoing Men's World Cup.

It was previously thought that the eight teams would be the top eight in the rankings as with every Champions Trophy tournament since the 2006 edition. Reports indicate that the ICC made the decision to change the qualification structure at a meeting in 2021 but this had not been announced until now.

This means that the Netherlands, currently placed eighth in the table, have a chance at qualifying for the tournament for the first time since the 2002 edition when they were one of two associates members - along with Kenya - in the then twelve team tournament. USA and Kenya played in 2004 and the tournament has been a full member only event since.

As with all editions of the tournament since 2009, the eight participating teams will be divided into two groups of four, with the top two in each group meeting in the semi-finals.