Leinster's top flight Premier League will comprise of 12 teams from the 2025 season onwards.

The cut-throat nature of the eight-team league was introduced at the request of Cricket Ireland who wanted the various Unions to have more competitive cricket to help players prepare for interprovincial and international cricket.

While there may have been merit in this, clubs felt it was detrimental to them and given the strength of the domestic game in Leinster, 12 sides will comprise the Premiership.

The top 12 will play each other once and then split into a top and bottom six playing for the Premiership and Championship trophies.

A new First team league will be established for the 13th to 20th placed teams.

One other major change will be that the Alan Murray T20 Cup will revert to a localised competition next year with the games played in high season.

There will also be a regionalised T20 league option, and the U23 district competition trialled this year will be expanded to include midweek T20 matches.