Irish Cricket Archives masthead
Ireland: International Tournaments
2000 European Division 1 Championship

Six teams participated in the 2000 European Division One tournament held in Scotland between 21st and 27th of July. Hosts Scotland were joined by favourites The Netherlands, Ireland, ECB England, Denmark and Italy.

The opening day saw three comprehensive wins for The Netherlands, Scotland and England, against Ireland, Italy and Denmark respectively. Three wickets apiece for Asim Khan and Tim de Leede saw Ireland make just 163 – Angus Dunlop top scoring with 43. It was never near enough as The Netherlands eased to a seven wicket win with Ahmad Zulqifar hitting 85 not out, sharing a partnership of 88 with Roger Bradley who made 43.

Ireland's Adrian McCoubrey in action against The Netherlands at Hamilton Crescent, GlasgowIreland's Adrian McCoubrey in action against The Netherlands at Hamilton Crescent, Glasgow

Gregor Maiden took three wickets as Italy made just 139, and unbeaten 45s from Bryn Lockie and Colin Smith ensured a nine wickets win for Scotland. ECB had eight wickets in hand as they chased Denmark’s 133, Steve Foster taking 4 for 21 and Richard Howitt making 46 not out.

The second round of games saw England beat Ireland by 34 runs after the Irish collapsed chasing 213. Carl Amos and Paul Bryson both scored fifties in the English innings while Andy White’s four wickets was the best bowling. Peter Gillespie hit a quick 55, but 141 for 4 became 179 all out.

The Netherlands and Scotland played out an entertaining game as Robert van Oosterom scored a brilliant 110 to lead the Dutch to a two-wicket win off the last ball. Italy picked up their first points with an exciting nine-run win over Denmark, thanks primarily to 90 from Peter di Venuto, and 76 from Benito Giordano.

Day 3 saw England skipper Steve Foster put a serious dent in the hosts title aspirations as he followed up his 71 with a five-wicket haul to lead his team to a comprehensive 105-run win. He shared in a 115-run stand with Paul Bryson (70) as they posted 209 for 4, and dismissed Scotland for just 104.

In the other games The Netherlands made it three wins from three as they dismissed Italy for 114 – three wickets apiece for Asim Khan and Luuk van Troost. That modest target proved little trouble as Roger Bradley (39*) and Van Troost (30*) guided them to a seven wicket win.

Ireland put their first points on the board as Andy White’s maiden century (111) ensured they had too many runs for Denmark, who made 161 in reply to 234 for 9.

Owen Butler of Ireland bowling against Denmark at UddingstonOwen Butler of Ireland bowling against Denmark at Uddingston

The Netherlands went clear at the top of the table as they won what would prove to be the shoot-out for the title as a fine bowling display saw England restricted to 138 for 9. Roland Lefebvre spearheaded the attack as he had the excellent analysis of 10-5-25-4. An unbroken fifth wicket stand of 82 between Tim de Leede (47*) and Roger Bradley (37*) sealed a six wicket win.

In the other games, the Irish spin duo of Kyle McCallan (5-23) and Matt Dwyer (3-10) combined as Italy were dismissed for just 74 – Ireland winning by six wickets despite the best efforts of leg-spinner Hemantha Jayasena who claimed 3 for 18.

Scotland’s bowlers were on top too in their clash with Denmark, with Craig Wright taking four wickets, aided by two apiece from Asim Butt and James Brinkley as the Danes made 85 – having been 46 for 9 at one stage. Dougie Lockhart (45*) and Colin Smith (28*) ensured a nine-wicket win.

The final round of matches saw The Netherlands as expected claim the title with an emphatic eight-wicket win over Denmark. The Danes did make 186 for 7 – Lefebvre taking three scalps, while Van Troost and JJ Esmeljer managed two each. The chase was a nerveless one as an opening stand of 162 between Ahmad Zulfiqar (85) and Robert van Oosterom (58) led them to victory.

England claimed the runners-up slot with Chris Mole’s 51 pivotal as they chased 140 against Italy – Marcus Sharp and Steve Foster taking three wickets as Italy made 139.

Barry Archer batting for Ireland against Scotland at Boghall"Barry Archer batting for Ireland against Scotland at Boghall

The Celtic bragging rights went to Scotland who beat Ireland by five wickets chasing a revised target of 176, with a stand of 90 between Drew Parsons (70) and Greig Willamson (58) sealing the win and third slot.