Irish Cricket Archives masthead
Ireland Under 19: International Tournaments
2005 European Under 19 Championship
Tayside, Scotland

Scotland hosted the 2005 European Under 19 tournament which doubled as the qualifiers for the 2006 U19 World Cup to be held in Sri Lanka.

There wasn’t as much pressure for the Celtic rivals, as ICC had granted two qualifying places for the finals, meaning both Scotland and Ireland would be the strongest of favourites to emerge.

Ireland's Robert Rankin is floored by Dutch pace bowler Tom HegglemanIreland's Robert Rankin is floored by Dutch pace bowler Tom Heggleman

The opening day saw two very comprehensive wins secured with Ireland proving much too strong for the Dutch and Scotland for the Danes. Gareth McKee, who later went on to have a career in Northern Irish politics, scored 129 as he and Eoin Morgan – who went on to lift the World Cup for England – shared a stand of 190 in a 152-run win.

Scotland were even more emphatic winners, beating Denmark by 175 runs. Robert Cannon hit 121 and Kasim Farid 53 as they posted 302 for 9 and then dismissed Denmark for 127. Zeeshan Shah (48*) carried his bat for the Danes, while there were three wickets apiece for both Sean Weeraratna and Richie Berrington.

Martin Pedersen of Denmark is bowled by Scotland's Sean WeeraratnaMartin Pedersen of Denmark is bowled by Scotland's Sean Weeraratna

Day Two saw similar one-sided games as both Ireland and Scotland booked their tickets to Sri Lanka. McKee was again in the middle of the action taking a hat-trick as he claimed 4 for 17 – Denmark making just 98 with only skipper Michael Pedersen (40*) reaching double figures. Fintan McAllister hit 50 not out as the Irish won by nine wickets.

Scotland too encountered token resistance as they bowled out The Netherlands for 92. Opener Suleman Ghaznavi top-scored with 29, while David Bill picked up three wickets, and there were two apiece for Gordon Goudie, Sean Weeraratna and Calum MacLeod. Scotland did lose four wickets in the chase but were never in any real trouble if truth be hold.

A lucky escape for Fintan McAllister of Ireland against DenmarkA lucky escape for Fintan McAllister of Ireland against Denmark

With their places secured, all that remained to be decided was who would claim European glory and it was Scotland who earned the title after an impressive seam bowling display in helpful early morning conditions. Goudie and Weeraratna did the damage as they accounted for McKee, McAllister, Morgan and Wilson, blows from which the Irish never recovered, dismissed for 126 with David Rankin top-scoring with 30.

Alan Hislop then made 69 as Scotland earned bragging rights with a six wicket win with 14 overs remaining. The Irish bowling display was workmanlike but did feature the only wicket at Under 19 level or above for Gary Wilson.

The Netherlands edged out Denmark by just nine runs to claim the third-placed slot, with Leslie Stokkers making 44 as the Dutch made 225 for 9. It proved enough despite Michael Pedersen’s 48 getting the Danes close – Stokkers taking 3 for 41 to complete a fine all-round performance.

Robert Cannon (161) was the leading run scorer ahead of Gareth McKee, while Sean Weerarartna’s eight wickets was best in the bowling charts.

The winning Scotland squadThe winning Scotland squad

Tournament Awards

  • Winners: Scotland
  • Player of the Tournament: Michael Pedersen (Denmark)
  • Spirit of Cricket: Ireland